Author Topic: James Wheat - Engineer, 1969 to 1986 born 1926  (Read 15702 times)

leej

James Wheat - Engineer, 1969 to 1986 born 1926
« on: Jun 17, 2014, 10:15 AM »
Hi
My name is Jonno, I am a Lincolnshire lad approaching 50 from the wrong side.
Today, I am a steelworker with a bit of a hobby in medal collecting.
I have collected Lincolnshire Regiment medals for many years, though have now found another theme.
In my youth I was a soldier with the Royal Artillery units which used Rapier missiles during the Falklands in 1982, consequently being given a SAM with rosette.
My new theme is collecting SAM's/SAM groups to lads who served in this short war. Starting with my own, I have gained a number to various ships and military units involved.
Recently, I have gained a QE2 SAM to an engineer by the name of J. Wheat. This man is sadly now deceased.
I am trying to put together a picture of this man and his life.
As a custodian of history, a lover of history in general, and having a personal link to the Falklands myself, I feel it important to remember the people who served. Whether Naval, RAF, Army in WW1, Boer War, Korea, or the latest escapades our government sees fit to involve us with.
Anyway, cheers chaps!
Jonno

Offline CAP

Re: Researching crewmen of the QE2.
« Reply #1 on: Jun 17, 2014, 03:43 PM »
Welcome to the forum Jonno,

Unfortunately, I personally can't help you with your quest but just wanted to welcome you and express my support for your research.

Continued luck with the work hopefully there will be others who can provide information on the engineer.

Offline Willum

• QE2 Crew member
  • Caronia Diner
  • R/O and er, guitar picker.
« Reply #2 on: Jun 17, 2014, 05:16 PM »
Hello, I remember Jimmy Wheat very well, although Rod will be able to tell you much more about him, he was on QE2 in the days of Steam and I think he was a 2nd Engineer possibly 1st. Thoroughly nice guy with a shock of white hair and a ready smile.

Willum

Offline Rod