Author Topic: Hello from Simon - final transatlantic (book)  (Read 1905 times)

Vger

Hello from Simon - final transatlantic (book)
« on: Nov 20, 2010, 02:19 AM »
It all seems a while ago now. But, belatedly, hello everyone.

I only travelled once on the QE2, on her final transatlantic crossing, fulfilling a childhood ambition made more urgent by the news that she was to be hauled over to Dubai. It was one of the most memorable trips of my life and I met a lot of very nice people (hello to Martha, and Mary & Graham if you're here).

Please forgive the blatant self-promotion, but I have spent a lot of time this year putting together a book, which attempts to document that final crossing in black and white pictures. I'm a bit of a photographer and I'd be flattered if any of you thought it worthwhile taking a look. It's here

http://www.blurb.com/user/store/ivebeenthere

I'm off to trawl this splendid site now. Maybe catch you later. Cheers. Simon

« Last Edit: Nov 20, 2010, 08:49 PM by Isabelle Prondzynski »

Online Rob Lightbody

• Administrator
  • Queens Grill Diner
  • Helping to Keep The Legend Alive
    • Rob Lightbody dot com
Re: Hello from Simon - final transatlantic (book)
« Reply #1 on: Nov 21, 2010, 11:31 PM »
Thanks for posting Simon, it looks great! Might be a nice Christmas present for the people who thought they had all the QE2 books :)

Good luck with it.
Passionate about QE2's service life for 37 years and creator of this website.  Worked in IT for 27 years and created my personal QE2 website in 1994.

Vger

« Reply #2 on: Nov 28, 2010, 02:12 AM »
Thanks for the welcome Rob...and I hope you're right

Online Lynda Bradford

« Reply #3 on: Nov 28, 2010, 12:35 PM »
Welcome Simon.

Looking forward to hearing more about your memorable final crossing experience on the QE2.   I hope you enjoy reading and contributing to keeping the legend alive onboard this forum.